by Bond, Julian 305.8009 BOND

Race Man : Selected Works, 1960-2015

"An inspiring, historic collection of writings from one of America's most important civil rights leaders"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Synnott, Mark 796.522 SYNNOTT

The Third Pole : Mystery, Obsession, And Death On Mount Everest

"Veteran climber Mark Synnott never planned on climbing Mount Everest, but a hundred-year mystery lured him into an expedition--and an awesome history of passionate adventure, chilling tragedy, and human aspiration unfolded"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Giannetti, Brooke 747.0979 GIANNET
808.81 ONE
by Moore, Kate J363.1799 MOORE

The Radium Girls : The Scary But True Story Of The Poison That Made People Glow In The Dark

"Now adapted for young readers! The incredible true story of the young women exposed to the "wonder drug" radium and their struggle for justice" --…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Winter, Jonah EB JONES WINTER
by Campbell, Olivia 610.922 CAMPBEL

Women In White Coats : How The First Women Doctors Changed The World Of Medicine

Documents the true stories of three pioneering women who defied Victorian-era boundaries to become the first women doctors, discussing how they banded together to support each other and advocate for women's health in a male-dominated field.…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Heyrman, Christine Leigh B TENNEY HEYRMAN

Doomed Romance : Broken Hearts, Lost Souls, And Sexual Tumult In Nineteenth-century America

"A study of sexual politics in 19th century New England through the life of one woman"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Ford, Richard T. 391.009 FORD

Dress Codes : How The Laws Of Fashion Made History

A law professor and cultural critic offers an eye-opening exploration of the laws of fashion throughout history, from the middle ages to the present day, examining the canons, mores and customs of clothing rules that we often take for granted.…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Pearson, Bradford 940.5317 PEARSON

The Eagles Of Heart Mountain : A True Story Of Football, Incarceration, And Resistance In World War II America

A painstakingly researched account details the tragic and triumphant story of the Eagles, a high school football team from Cody, Wyoming's World War II Japanese-American incarceration camp.…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Lin, Jeremy Atherton 306.7662 LIN
by Canton, James 634.9721 CANTON

The Oak Papers

"In the tradition of The Hidden Life of Trees and H is for Hawk, a memoir-meets-homage to an oak tree that meditates on the mysteries of nature and the healing role it plays in our lives"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Smith, Charles R. J973.0496 SMITH

28 Days : Moments In Black History That Changed The World

"A picture book look at many of the men and women who revolutionized life for African Americans throughout history"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Bond, Julian 323.0975 BOND

Julian Bond's Time To Teach : A History Of The Southern Civil Rights Movement

"Compiled from his original lecture notes, Julian Bond's Time to Teach brings his invaluable teachings to a new generation of readers and provides a necessary toolkit for today's activists in the era of Black Lives Matter."--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Gaddy, K. R. 940.5343 GADDY

Flowers In The Gutter : The True Story Of The Edelweiss Pirates, Teenagers Who Resisted The Nazis

"The Edelweiss Pirates were a loosely organized group of working-class young people in the Rhine Valley of Germany. They faced off with Nazis during the Third Reich and suffered consequences for their resistance during and after World War II."--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Nesteroff, Kliph 970.0049 NESTERO

We Had A Little Real Estate Problem : The Unheralded Story Of Native Americans In Comedy

"From renowned comedy journalist and historian Kliph Nesteroff comes the underappreciated story of Native Americans and comedy"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Dawson, Keila V. EB GREEN DAWSON

Opening The Road : Victor Hugo Green And His Green Book

"A nonfiction picture book about The Green Book, a travel guide for African Americans during segregation, and the man who wrote it"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Weatherford, Carole Boston E976.686 WEATHER

Unspeakable : The Tulsa Race Massacre

"Celebrated author Carole Boston Weatherford and illustrator Floyd Cooper provide a powerful look at the 1921 Tulsa race massacre, one of the worst incidents of racial violence in our nation's history"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Friedman, Benjamin M. 330.122 FRIEDMA
by Kenny, Charles 614.49 KENNY

The Plague Cycle : The Unending War Between Humanity And Infectious Disease

This history of mankind's battles against infectious diseases looks at how epidemics shaped empires and economies and how medical revolutions freed us from these cycles until new threats caused by changes in global trade and climate.…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Metz, Cade 006.3092 METZ

Genius Makers : The Mavericks Who Brought AI To Google, Facebook, And The World

"New York Times Silicon Valley beat reporter Cade Metz has an insider's perspective on the greatest tech story of our time--a story that no one else has been in a position to tell"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Kumin, Laura 324.623 KUMIN

All Stirred Up : Suffrage Cookbooks, Food, And The Battle For Women's Right To Vote

A look at how suffragettes brought their political messages into American homes through cookbooks that appealed to women in nonthreatening and accessible ways and ran counter to the militant and stern caricatures often associated with the movement.…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

610.9 MEDICIN

The Medicine Book

Examines the milestones of medical history across generations and cultures all over the world.…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Cooke, Julia 387.742 COOKE

Come Fly The World : The Jet-age Story Of The Women Of Pan Am

"A lively, unexpected portrait of the jet-age stewardesses serving on iconic Pan Am airways between 1966 and 1975"--…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Thomas, William G. 306.362 THOMAS

A Question Of Freedom : The Families Who Challenged Slavery From The Nation's Founding To The Civil War

The story of the longest and most complex legal challenge to slavery in American history, in which a number of enslaved families challenged their bondage in court.…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Brown, Monica JB TELLO BROWN

Sharuko : El Arqueologo Peruano Julio C. Tello = Peruvian Archaeologist Julio C. Tello

Una biografia ilustrada de Julio C. Tello, considerado el fundador de la arqueologia peruana moderna y quien llego a ser el cientifico social indigena mas distinguido del siglo XX.…

Find in the catalog

Cover Image

by Cortez, Rio E973.0496 CORTEZ
by Noyes, Deborah J560 NOYES